Things I eat #2

25.04 Breakfast/Colazione

Finally a breakfast made it here, in the last post there wasn’t one. This is just a simple semolino porridge with some jam. Again something we eat a lot in Estonia and not only for breakfast :)

Finalmente anche una colazione ce l’ha fatta, nel altro post non c’era neanche una. Questo è un semplice semolino con un po’ di marmellata. Di nuovo una cosa, che in Estonia mangiamo tanto. Le varie pappette sono molto comuni sia per colazione, che altri momenti della giornata. In Italia semolino è più solo pappetta per i bebè :D 

IMG_0556

27.04 Lunch/Pranzo

A very lazy lunch: I just cut up some bread and wieners put some eggs on the top and put in in the oven, then served with a little bit of lettuce.

Un pranzo molto pigro: ho tagliato del pane e wurstel, ho buttato sopra qualche uovo ed ho messo tutto nel forno, poi l’ho servito con un pochino di lattuga.

IMG_0685

29.04  Treat/Sfizio

If the last “things i eat” post was quite healthy, this one is definitely not the healthiest :P I was craving some yummy coffee with whipped cream, so I made me some and grated a bit of chocolate on top. This was a dream ♥

Se l’altro “cose che mangio” post era abbastanza salutare, questo non lo è decisamente :P Avevo tanta voglia di caffè con la panna montata, così me lo sono fatto e ho grattuggiato anche un po’ di cioccolata sopra. Era un sogno ♥

IMG_0736

Dinner/Cena

Later that day I was lazy again so for dinner I made sandwiches with “egg-butter”, this is how we call it in Estonia. Just boil some eggs, smash them and mix with butter  (I used the plant based spread butter) , salt and pepper. It would’ve been a lot better with black bread, but what can you do.

Più tardi ero di nuovo pigra, così per cena ho fatto dei panini  col “burro-di-uova”, lo chiamiamo così in Estonia. Basta bollire qualche uova, schiacciarli con la forchetta e mescolare con il burro (ho usato quello vegetale spalmabile), sale e pepe.

IMG_0738

30.04 Lunch/Pranzo

Pelmeni! Again something estonians eat a lot, these are practically dumplings with meat inside and originate from Russia. These were store bought, but I’ve tried making them from scrap as well and it’s really easy. These are usually served with sour cream (or yogurt in this case).

Pelmeni! Di nuovo qualcosa, che gli estoni mangiano spesso, sono dei ripieni di carne, che provengono dalla Russia. Questi li ho comprati, ma ho provato di farli anche in casa quando vivevo in Italia (perché non si trovavano) e sono molto facili da fare. Di solito si serve con della panna acida (o in questo caso lo yogurt).

IMG_0740

Snack/Merenda

Look at this bad boy full of yummy cream inside :P I swear it wasn’t my idea to get these, I even said no, when hubs walked over the cart with a box of these! But they were delicious!

Guardate tutta questa bontà piena di crema :P Ve lo giuro, che non era la mia idea di comprarli, ho persino detto di no, quando mio marito è arrivato dal carrello con la scatola! Ma erano deliziosi!

IMG_0742

Dinner/Cena

I was pretty full from the pelmeni and the snack before, so I just went for a simple dinner – black bread + butter + cheese, a banana and a glass of milk. Nothing goes together better than black bread and milk! But first you need to find a decent black bread, which isn’t an easy task, unless you’re in Estonia ;)

Ero ancora abbastanza piena dai pelmeni e la merenda, così ho fatto la cena semplice – pane nero + burro + formaggio, una banana e latte. Niente va meglio insieme come pane nero e latte! Ma prima dovete trovare del pane nero decente, il che non è facile, a meno che non siete in Estonia ;)

IMG_0744

2.05 Lunch/Pranzo

After a weekend of overeating I was craving a light lunch, so I had a banana, some strawberries and some melon.

Dopo una fine settimana di troppo cibo avevo voglia di qualcosa di leggero,così mi sono tagliata una banana, delle fragole e del melone.

IMG_0784

Snack/Merenda

For a snack I made a very Estonian sweet from leftover bread. Just cut it in pieces, put some jam, repeat for as many layers as you want, then pour over a little bit of milk with sugar, sprinkle over with cinnamon and pop it in the oven. When it gets nice and brown and crunchy on top, serve warm with milk :)

Per merenda ho fatto un dolce molto estone dal pane vecchio. Taglia in pezzettini il pane, metti sopra marmellata, ripeti per quanti strati vuoi, versaci sopra un po’ di latte zuccherato e spolvera con cannella, poi mettilo al forno. Quando è bello croccante e tostato sopra servi caldo con del latte :)

IMG_0786

3.05 Lunch/Pranzo

I love pancakes and I love eating pancakes instead of a “real” lunch or dinner. Let me know if you do that too!

Adoro i pancakes e adoro mangiarli al posto di un pranzo o cena “vero”.

20160503_120331

Dinner/Cena

Veggie patties, I just threw together what I had at home. It has cabbage, carrots, rice, red beans, bread and a few spices and soy sauce for taste. Served them with mayo.

Cotolette di verdure, ho usato semplicemente quelle, che avevo in casa. Dentro hanno del cavolo, carote, riso, fagioli rossi, pane e un po’ di spezie e salsa di soya per sapore. Le ho servite con mayonese.

IMG_0789

What do you think? Would you eat these foods? Have you ever tried pelmeni? How do you feel about eating pancakes for lunch or dinner?

Cosa ne pensate? Mangereste questi cibi? Avete mai provato i pelmeni? Come vi sentite a riguardo a mangiare dei pancake per pranzo o cena?

Mammu

9 thoughts on “Things I eat #2

  1. Molto interessanti questi tuoi post soprattutto perché inserisci tanti elementi della cucina estone che per me è del tutto sconosciuta…ora un pochino meno, a dire il vero. Quando ho visto il primo semolino ho pensato che ti stessi allenando per quando arriverà il bebè e invece… :) buona giornata!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mi fa davvero piacere, che questi post ti interessano :) Ihhiiiii già, il semolino lo darò al bebè e lo mangio pure io ^.^ Buon a giornata anche a te, passa un bel weekend! :*

      Like

  2. Ooh yes I would eat these kind of foods ! I never have tried Pelmeni but I think they are similar as the Italian Cappelletti ? You can always wake me for pancakes and I love them not only in the sweet version but also with cheese, bacon and tomatoes ! :)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The idea is similar but the taste is totally different of the cappelletti. If you have some russian shops in your area, they sell pelmeni there. I know there are many russian shops around Italy :)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

