4 Month Postpartum & Baby Update

Where does the time go!!!!???? Seriously! We finally managed to get his first vaccinations, but now we have to get all of them a little later. Everything went well, he didn’t get a fever thankfully. He was just a little grumpier for the evening and in the morning he back to his happy self. I forgot to tell you in the last update that he has atopic dermatitis like my second son. It’s not too bad fortunately, nothing a little moisturizer can’t fix.

Ma dove va a finire il tempo!!!??? Sul serio! Siamo finalmente riusciti a fare i primi vaccini ma ora dobbiamo farli tutti un po’ in ritardo. Tutto è andato liscio e non gli è venuto neanche la febbre. Era un pochino brontolone la sera ma la mattina dopo è tornato il solito bebè allegro. L’ultima volta ho dimenticato dirvi che ha la dermatite atopica come il mio secondo figlio. Per fortuna non è grave, basta un po’ di crema idratante mattina e sera.

20161216_122312

In the beginning of December the pediatric wasn’t happy with his weight gain so I’m giving him formula as well which means I’ll probably run out of breastmilk very soon. He was chubby so I wasn’t worried, but I get anxiety very easily so the pedriatric made me quite anxious about this. More then anything I felt like I wasn’t doing a good job in my pediatric eyes. She told me to keep up the breastfeeding since it’s winter and breastmilk has antibodies in it. But it didn’t stop him from getting sick last months and my other boys were totally fine when I stopped breastfeeding. My firstborn was 4,5 months and my second son 2,5 months when I stopped breastfeeding so I don’t know why does this time feel different! I feel guilty, I feel so bad that my heart aches. I know moms who stop breastfeeding can get anxiety and depression cause of hormones and stuff and this time it’s affecting me a lot. Let’s hope it will pass quickly!

La sua pediatra non era felice con il peso che aveva preso inizio dicembre quindi ho cominciato a dargli anche il latte artificiale, il che vuol dire che il mio latte finirà presto. Lui era bello cicciotto quindi non ero preoccupata ma le ansie mi vengono facilmente e la pediatra me le ha fatte venire. Più che altro sentivo come se non stessi facendo un buon lavoro nei suoi occhi. Lei mi ha detto di continuare ad allattare visto che siamo in inverno ed il latte materno ha degli anticorpi. Comunque i famosi anticorpi non hanno impedito il piccoletto ad ammalarsi a novembre e gli altri due sono stati benissimo dopo aver smesso. Il più grande era 4,5 mesi ed il secondo 2,5 mesi quando ho smesso di allattarli. Non so come mai questa volta sembra diverso! Mi sento in colpa, sono così triste che mi fa male il cuore.  So che mamme che smettono di allattare possono avere ansia e depressione per via degli ormoni e questa volta mi sta decisamente influenzando! Speriamo che passi velocemente!

20161216_102600_hdr

Since last month I’ve started losing my hair again. For those who don’t know, you stop losing hair during the pregnancy and then usually around 3 months after the birth of the baby you will start to lose hair again and a lot cause you’ll lose all what you didn’t lose during the pregnancy. This can be worrying if you’re not familiar with that fact. To me it’s just annoying to have my long hair everywhere again! But the good news is that my stomach is not hairy anymore, somehow during the pregnancy I started to look like a hairy monkey so I’m glad that’s back to normal. Now I’m a less hairy monkey :D:D:D

Ho ricominciato a perdere capelli dallo scorso mese. Per chi non lo sapesse, durante la gravidanza si smette di perdere i capelli e circa 3 mesi dopo il parto si riprende e in più ne perdi di più. Può essere uno spavento se non sai di questa cosa ma torna tutto normale molto presto. Per me è semplicemente una scocciatura di avere i miei capelli ovunque! Ma la buona notizia è che la mia pancia non è più pelosa, durante la gravidanza ho cominciato a sembrare una scimmia pelosa perciò sono felice ad essere tornata normale. Cioè una scimmia un po’ meno pelosa :D:D:D

20161229_170114

I also had a period false alarm. I was already excited but I guess my body is still practicing getting back to normal. And you probably think “who’d be excited to get their period?!” It makes me feel like I’m back to normal again after having a baby. Also I’ve been blessed with light-short-and-pain-free periods so I don’t mind.

As far as weight loss goes, I haven’t lost any this month. I’ve just been too busy and stressed out so I didn’t have much time to work out. But at least I didn’t gain any. But I’ll be back at it now :) I’m hoping to be back at my pre-pregnancy weight by spring!

Ho anche avuto un falso allarme di mestruazioni. Ero già felice ma si vede che il mio corpo si sta ancora esercitando per tornare nella normalità. Probabilmente pensate “chi sarebbe mai felice d’avere le mestruazioni?!” Ma mi fa sentire normale di nuovo dopo avere avuto un figlio. Poi sono una di quelle donne fortunata con il flusso leggero e senza dolori perciò non mi dispiace.

Per quanto riguarda la perdita del peso non ho perso niente questo mese. Sono stata troppo impegnata e stressata per allenarmi. Ma almeno non ne ho preso neanche. Ora tornerò all’azione :) Spero di tornare al peso pre-gravidanza per primavera!

4m-1

It’s been a few days since I started writing this, in the meantime we’ve passed completely to formula. I feel much better thankfully and he’s been trying some pumpkin puree. He’s been trying to bite my food every time I eat so it was about time and HE LOVES IT! :D

Sono passati alcuni giorni da quando ho cominciato a scrivere questo post, nel frattempo abbiamo passato completamente al latte artificiale. Per fortuna mi sento già molto meglio. Ha cominciato a mangiare anche del puree di zucca. Stava sempre cercando di mordere qualsiasi cosa mangiavo quindi era ora e lui ADORA i cibi solidi :D

♥ ♥ ♥

22 thoughts on “4 Month Postpartum & Baby Update

  1. Oh Mammu I am sure you are a wonderful and amazing mom. I know guilt feelings go along with motherhood a lot of the times but sometimes a mother knows better than a doctor I believe. You know your child best. He’s absolutely perfect with his big eyes and chubby little cheeks. 💜

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

